Barclays says two interactive assessments. Candidates say numerical reasoning. Prepare for both
Barclays is open about the shape of its early careers assessment and quiet about the content. Candidates fill the gap with numerical, verbal and situational tests. This page separates what Barclays states from what is reported, so you can spend practice time where it is likely to count.
50
questions
45 min
time limit
Free
instant score
By the LifeScore Editorial Team · Updated · How we check facts
How close is this practice test to the Barclays test?
Prep sites and candidate reports describe numerical and verbal reasoning in Barclays assessments, with a numerical test reported at around 35 minutes. If yours includes them, our reasoning test, 25 numerical and 25 verbal questions, is a fair rehearsal.
Barclays' own early careers page does not mention numerical or verbal reasoning at all. It describes two short interactive assessments about workplace performance and working preferences. You may not meet a reasoning test, so this page is a hedge: practise what is commonly reported, and read the invitation before you spend your evenings on it.
It is a Reasoning-style test: 50 original questions in 45 minutes. Check the test name in your invitation email before you decide how to prepare.
Barclays: the assessment at a glance
| What Barclays says | The process starts with two short interactive assessments that show likely workplace performance and your preferred ways of working |
| Technical roles | Programmes such as the Explorer Developer programme add an assessment of technical skills |
| Platform | Most assessments run on a digital experience platform with hints and tips, and some practice tests |
| Timing (apprentice route) | Barclays suggests 60 minutes, to be finished within five calendar days of the invitation, on any type of device |
| Experienced hires | Tests can take up to an hour and you will always have the chance to practise first |
| After the tests | An assessment centre with two or three stages, including a motivational interview with a leadership team member |
| Reported content | Numerical, verbal and logical reasoning, situational judgement and a personality or values assessment, from prep sites |
The Barclays stages, and who says so
Every stage is marked by its source. Stated means the employer says it on its own pages. Candidates report means we found it only in candidate accounts and prep guides.
- 01
Two short interactive assessments
Barclays suggests 60 minutes on the apprentice route, within five calendar days of the invitationStated by Barclays
How you are likely to perform in the workplace and how you prefer to workBarclays does not say whether these include reasoning questions. Read the instructions before you start. - 02
Technical assessment (some programmes)
Stated by Barclays
Technical skills, for programmes such as the Explorer Developer programme - 03
Numerical reasoning
One candidate report describes 35 minutes, developed by SHLCandidates report
Reading charts and tables and answering numerical questionsFrom prep sites and assessment-day descriptions. Barclays does not state it on the pages we read. - 04
Verbal and logical reasoning, plus situational judgement
60 to 90 minutes in total, reportedCandidates report
Reading passages, spotting patterns and choosing responses to workplace scenariosGuides disagree on which of these appear and in what combination. - 05
Assessment centre
Stated by Barclays
Two or three stages, including a motivational interview with a member of the leadership team
What Barclays actually confirms
On its early careers page, Barclays says the process starts with two short interactive assessments. They show how you might perform in the workplace and your typical or preferred ways of working. That is a behavioural description, not a cognitive one. It does not mention numerical reasoning, verbal reasoning or any pass mark.
It does say two other useful things. Most assessments run on a digital experience platform that includes hints and tips and some practice tests. And for the apprentice route it suggests 60 minutes for completion and a five-calendar-day window, on any type of device. Barclays' experienced-hire page says the tests can take up to an hour and that you will always have the opportunity to practise first.
What candidates and prep sites add
Assessment guides describe a longer list: numerical, verbal and logical reasoning, a situational judgement test, and a values or personality assessment, taking 60 to 90 minutes in total. One says the numerical test is usually SHL-based and adds that Barclays may have changed publisher, so you should check the one named on your invite. One candidate report describes a 35-minute numerical test developed by SHL.
A separate source describes a Barclays assessment as strengths-based, expecting you to show teamwork, decision making and critical analysis. We could not confirm whether that is a separate product from the situational judgement test.
Both pictures can be true at once. The same company can use different assessments for graduates, apprentices and experienced hires, and the mix can change year to year. That is why reading your own invitation matters more than reading ours.
How to practise when the content is uncertain
The honest approach is to spread your effort by likelihood. Barclays is a bank, and banks that run online assessments tend to include numerical data questions, so a short numerical session is a reasonable default. Verbal reasoning is the next most commonly reported. Neither is confirmed by Barclays.
A plan that works with that uncertainty: take the free test above once, in full. If the numerical half goes well, spend your time on the platform's own practice tests and on the behavioural side. If it goes badly, give it two or three more sessions, because the numerical content is the part that rewards practice.
The part nobody can drill: how you work
Because Barclays leads with assessments about workplace performance and preferences, treat that as the main event. Read the competencies in its candidate competency guide, which is public, and think of real examples of each from your studies, jobs or activities. Answer interactive scenarios as you would act, not as you think a bank wants.
Consistency does more for you here than polish. Assessments like this tend to ask the same thing from several angles, so an exaggerated answer in one place conflicts with an honest one in another.
Use the platform's own practice
Barclays says its platform has hints and tips and some practice tests, and its hints page advises reading the instructions carefully and completing all practice and example questions. Do exactly that. It is the only way to see the real interface and the real timer behaviour. Our test cannot tell you either.
Barclays also lets you request adjustments, such as additional time or completing assessments by video call. If you need one, ask before you start.
Practise the skills Barclays asks for
50 original questions, 45 minutes, scored the moment you finish. Free, no sign-up. Not the Barclays test.
Start the free Reasoning testA simple prep plan for Barclays
- 01
Take the free Reasoning test first
It takes 45 minutes and shows where you stand before you spend a single hour on revision. See what the Reasoning test covers. - 02
Read the stages that apply to you
The comparison guides below line Barclays up against other employers for each stage type, so you can see what is stated and what is only reported. - 03
Add timed mocks if you want a full course
The Reasoning Pass Pack adds timed mocks, topic drills, a score predictor and a study plan. It is £29 (US$39) for this exam or £49 (US$59) for all five, one payment and no subscription. Your free score comes first, so you can decide with a number in hand.
Tips for the Barclays assessment
- 01
Separate stated from reported
Barclays states the two interactive assessments. Numerical and verbal reasoning are reported by candidates. - 02
Read the competency guide
Barclays publishes one. Pick real examples for each competency. - 03
Complete every practice and example question
Barclays' hints page asks for it, and it is the only practice that matches the interface. - 04
Mind the five-day window
On the apprentice route Barclays gives five calendar days. Check your own deadline. - 05
Answer as you would act
The assessments are about likely workplace performance and preferences. - 06
Ask for adjustments early
Additional time and video-call completion are both offered. - 07
Do one full reasoning session as a hedge
If numerical or verbal appears, you will have a baseline. If not, you have lost an hour.
What candidates and prep sites report
These come from anonymous reviews, university careers pages and prep guides. They often disagree, and Barclays has not confirmed them. Read them as leads, not rules.
- One prep guide lists a Barclays battery of numerical, verbal and logical reasoning, a values and mindset assessment, and a personality assessment.
- Another says the tests cover numerical reasoning, verbal reasoning and a situational judgement test, taking 60 to 90 minutes in total.
- One candidate report describes a 35-minute numerical test developed by SHL; prep guides add that Barclays has most recently used SHL but may have changed.
- One guide advises submitting your application in the first two to three weeks of the window. Barclays does not state that this affects your chances.
Frequently asked questions
What does the Barclays online assessment include?
Does Barclays use numerical reasoning tests?
How long is the Barclays assessment?
Can I practise first?
Does Barclays use SHL?
What happens after the online assessments?
Can I ask for adjustments?
Are the practice questions from Barclays?
Sources
Checked October 2026. The two interactive assessments, platform practice tests, the apprentice timing and the assessment centre come from Barclays careers pages, some of which show their age. Numerical, verbal and logical reasoning, SHL and the 35-minute figure come from prep sites and one candidate report and could not be verified. Barclays does not confirm that a reasoning test is part of every route.
Guides that cover Barclays
- Numerical reasoningNumerical Reasoning Tests at Graduate Employers, Compared
- Verbal and critical reasoningVerbal and Critical Reasoning at Employers: Stated Details
- Logical and inductive reasoningLogical and Inductive Reasoning Tests at Employers Compared
- Situational judgementSituational Judgement Tests at Employers: What Each Says
- Assessment centresGraduate Assessment Centres Compared: Stated Formats
- Coding and technical testsCoding and Technical Tests in Graduate Hiring: What Is Stated
Other employer assessments
- HSBC assessmentWork-simulation questions built on graphs, data tables, mock emails and articles, about 40 minutes each.
- Lloyds Banking Group assessmentData interpretation, a work scenario, a working-style questionnaire and a person-reviewed video answer.
- NatWest Group assessmentWork scenarios, a mostly untimed skills assessment and six recorded video questions.
- Santander UK assessmentThree short assessment games and a four-to-five question recorded interview.
- Standard Chartered assessmentA Skills Insight Assessment with a 36-minute timed section, a pre-set pass level and a personal report.
- Civil Service assessmentUntimed, adaptive verbal and numerical tests, with practice versions on GOV.UK.
- Assessment guidesCompare employers by test type, sector and topic
- All employer assessmentsEvery employer page, with what each says and what candidates report
LifeScore is not affiliated with Barclays. Their names and trademarks belong to their owners and appear here only to describe a hiring process. This page rests on what Barclays publishes and what candidates report, and Barclays has not reviewed or endorsed it. Our practice test uses original questions in a similar style and is not the Barclays test. LifeScore is not affiliated with SHL or any test publisher. SHL is a trademark of its owner. Our practice tests are original questions written in a similar style (tables of business data, and passages with True, False or Cannot say statements) and are not the real tests. Reviewed October 2026 by the LifeScore Editorial Team.